
Tax Fundamentals for Cannabis Establishments 

There are multiple different tax types that Cannabis Establishments may be responsible for 

collecting and remitting to the Department of Taxation. Even though the Cannabis Compliance 

Board administers licensing and regulatory duties, the Department of Taxation continues to 

collect the taxes owed by Cannabis Establishments. The Department of Taxation provides 

monthly updates to the CCB staff regarding Cannabis Establishments with tax compliance issues. 

Below is a brief snapshot of each tax type that Cannabis Establishments may be responsible for, 

as well as a discussion on repercussions for the Cannabis Establishments that fail to timely file, 

collect, and pay taxes.1
 

 Commerce Tax 

o This is an entity-level tax 

o Due once a year, 45 days after the end of the fiscal year 

 Fiscal year end date is June 30th, return is due generally August 14
th 

or the 
following business day 

o Due on gross revenue received from transactions occurring in the State of Nevada 

 Entities with gross revenue of less than $4.00 million in the fiscal year are 

exempt from filing 

 Tax is imposed only on the amount of gross revenue in excess of $4.00 million 

 The tax rate is contingent on the entity’s North American Industry 

Classification System (NAICS) code 

 Modified Business Tax 

o This is an entity-level tax 

o Due quarterly, by end of month following the end of each calendar quarter 

 Q1 is due by April 30th
 

 Q2 is due by July 31st
 

 Q3 is due by October 31st
 

 Q4 is due by January 31st 

o A mirror to unemployment insurance, this tax is due on gross wages paid during the 

calendar quarter, for all locations owned by that entity 

 Gross wages on the return should match the gross wages reported to 

Employment Security Department for the same quarter 

 Tax is imposed only on the amount of gross wages in excess of $50,000 
 Tax Rate is 1.17% for Cannabis Industry as General Business filers 

 Sales/Use Tax 

o Two different tax types, Sales Tax and Use Tax, that are reported on the same return 

o This is a location-specific tax 
 

1 This tax presentation is not intended as legal advice. It is meant for educational purposes only. 
In the event that any of the information contained in this tax presentation does not comport with 
the Department of Taxation’s statutes or regulations, the Department of Taxation’s statutes or 
regulations govern. 



 Entities with multiple locations can request to file one consolidated Sales/Use 

Tax return to reflect the taxes due from all locations 

 Based on gross sales, tax returns are due and payable to the 

Department each month and due monthly on or before the last day of 

the month next succeeding each month.  

o Ex: January’s return is due by end of February, February’s 

return is due by end of March, etc. 

o Sales Tax is due on the sale of all tangible personal property, including Medical 
Cannabis sales, where the transfer of possession/ownership occurs within the State 
of Nevada 

 The tax rate is contingent on the county in which the transaction took place 

 Sales Tax is collected from the end-user/consumer at the time of the sale 

 Sales Tax funds are considered Trust Money – held in trust by the 

establishment for the State of Nevada, to be remitted to the State of Nevada 

 Certain Transactions can be exempt from Sales Tax 

 Ex: Wholesale Transactions, where a resale certificate has been 

presented to the seller 

o Use Tax is due on: 

  The purchase price of all tangible personal property purchased to be used, 

consumed in the State of Nevada, where Sales Tax was not assessed. For 

example, an establishment purchases totes for product storage online, but 

Sales Tax was not assessed on the purchase by the vendor. Then Use Tax would 

be due. 

 The giveaway of complimentary tangible personal property or consumption of 

inventory at cost value. 

 The tax rate is contingent on the county in which the item is being used or 

consumed 

 Wholesale Cannabis Tax 

o This is a location-specific tax 

o Due monthly, by the end of the month following the reporting period 

 Due on the first wholesale sale of cannabis or cannabis product. The tax rate is 
15% of: 

 The Fair Market Value for any affiliate sales, regardless of what the 
product actually sold for; or 

 The actual sales price for any non-affiliate sales 

 Fair Market Value is calculated by Taxation every 3 months, based on the 
median of industry reported non-affiliate sales price of cannabis and cannabis 
products 

 Different product categories have different Fair Market Values 

 Retail Cannabis Tax 

o This is a location-specific tax 

o Due monthly, by the end of the month following the reporting period 

o Collected from the end-user/consumer at the time of sale 

 The tax rate is 10% of the sales price of cannabis or cannabis products 

 Does not apply to medical cannabis sales or cannabis paraphernalia 



(papers, grinders, water pipes) or other items of tangible personal 
property sold by the establishment that is not cannabis or is below the 
0.3% THC threshold (hemp) 

 Must be separately stated on the receipt 

 Regulatory Repercussions 

o Penalties & Interest 

 When a return is filed late, or with partial or no payment, penalties & 

interest are assessed: 

 A one-time penalty, up to 10% of the tax balance due 

o A graduated penalty, based on how late payment is received 

o The full 10% is assessed 30 days after the due date 

 Interest is assessed at .75% monthly on the tax portion of the unpaid 

balance 

o Assessed on the 1st of each month, after the due date 
o Interest will not accrue on interest or on penalty 

 A waiver of Penalties and/or Interest can be requested, in certain 

circumstances 

o Civil Penalties Assessed by Cannabis Compliance Board 

 Cannabis Establishments are also subject to Civil Penalties 

 Intentionally failing to file, pay, or properly collect taxes is a Category I 
violation 

 Unintentionally failing to file and/or pay taxes is a Category III violation 


